December 6, 2022

Covid-19: 9 Northern States to ban Public gathering

Governors of Northwest, Kwara and Niger States have announced plans to ban public gathering as a measure to protect citizens against the dreaded Corona Virus or Covid-19.

At a meeting in Kaduna State to review the security situation in their states and to agree on a joint responses to the corona virus pandemic, the governors resolved on steps to curtail the activities of banditry and the corona virus in their respective states.

The meeting which was chaired by the Chairman of the Northwest Governors’ Forum, Governor Aminu Bello Masari, was also attended by the SSGs of the states, their Special Advisers and commissioners responsible for security matters.

A communique signed by the governors of Katsina, Aminu Bello Masari and Niger, Abubakar Sani Bello issued after the meeting has it that the state governors resolved to jointly fund security operations aimed at conclusively addressing the challenge from the criminal elements.

The communiqué also read that measures shall be taken by each of the states, in consultation with the national examination bodies, to close schools for a period of 30 days, starting from Monday, 23rd March 2020.

That there will be sensitization campaigns to discourage large gatherings of people until further notice.

That the states will continue to wage aggressive campaigns to encourage citizens to uphold personal hygiene, including hand washing and environmental sanitation.

The governors also received briefings from heads of security agencies, at the meeting which had in attendance Major-General A. Agundu (Commander, Operation Safe Haven), Major-Gen. F.I. Yahaya, GOC 1 Division, AVM, M.I. Mukhtar (AOC Air Training Command), Rear Admiral T. Pani (Commandant, Nigerian Navy School of Armaments) and other senior military officers. Commissioners of Police and State Directors of the DSS from the concerned states also attended the meeting.

Present at the meeting were Governors Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna) Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto), Bello Matawalle (Zamfara) and Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger). Deputy Governor Nasiru Gawuna represented Kano State. The Governor of Kwara State joined the meeting by telephone.