December 2, 2022

PLHA 2023: Only 8 out 0f 24 Members Likely to Return

Plateau State House of Assembly will witness new crop of members by 2023 as many of the current members could not secure return tickets from their various political parties in their constituencies.

Only 8 of those that sought reelection secured tickets in the just concluded indirect primary election conducted by the political parties in the state.

Out of the remaining 22 members of the House of Assembly apart from the member representing Rukuba-Irigwe, Musa Agah in Bassa local government who was elected to represent Jos North-Bassa Federal Constituency during the February 2022 by-election and the former speaker, Abok Ayuba whose seat was declared vacant following his defection from the ruling APC to the main opposition party PDP in the state by the House Speaker, Yakubu Sanda.

Four of the 22 Members vied for positions in the National Assembly during the Primary elections while 18 of them sought reelection back to the state assembly but only 7 secured the ticket.

One of them, Nanbol Listick of Langtang North-North constituency who could not secure his return ticket in PDP quickly defected and picked Labour Party ticket in a bid to return to the Assembly.

With this development, even if the 8 current members who secured the tickets in their political parties emerged victorious in their reelection bid, 16 new Members would be coming on board. However, in a case where not all the 8 get reelected, it means the House would be more of first timers.

The House Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Saleh Yipmong from Dengi constituency contested for the Plateau Central zone senatorial seat but lost to a former member of the 7th state Assembly from Pankshin North state constituency, Diket Plang while the Assembly Deputy Majority Leader, Wallok Goma contested for Pankshin, Kanke and Kanam federal constituency all in the APC but lost to the incumbent member who is also a former member of the 8th State Assembly and former Deputy Speaker from Kantana constituency, Hon. Yusuf Adamu Gagdi.

One of the oldest members in the House who is serving for the fourth time and a former Deputy Speaker, Ibrahim Baba Hassan contested and won the party ticket of APC for the Jos North/Bassa Federal Constituency while a two time Member and the Minority Leader of the House, Hon. Peter Ibrahim Gyendeng from Barkin Ladi State constituency also contested and won the ticket of PDP for the Barkin Ladi/Riyom Federal Constituency.

Out of the 4 that aspired to go higher, two secured their party ticket while two could not and out of the 7 PDP members that sought for reelection only 3, namely Timothy Dantong of Riyon Constituency, Dalyop Fom Gwottson of Jos South Constituency and Bala Fwangje of Mangu South Constituency secured their party return ticket.

Other PDP members that lost their reelection bids are Surveyor Simi Dusu (Jos Nort West) Pirfa Tyem (Langtang North Central), Sohchang Zingtim (Langtang South) and Nanbol Listick (Langtang North-North) who later defected to Labour party to pursue his ambition.

In the APC, 11 members that sought for reelection, only 4 of them namely, Yakubu Sanda, the current speaker from Pengana constituency, Abdul Yanga (Mangu East), Ismaila Bala (Kantana) and the majority leader of the House, Naanlong Gapyil Daniel (Mikang) that scaled through to the secondary election to square it with candidates of other parties come 2023.

The APC members that lost their return bids are Amurudu Usaini (Bokkos), Philip Dasun (Pankshin North), Livinus Kwapfuan (Shendam), Yahaya Adamu (Wase), Abubakar Muhammed Ballo (Quan’pan South), Eric Dallogol (Quan’pan North) and Ezra Dakup (Pankshin South).

From the zoning system in the state, the next speaker of the Plateau State 10th Assembly in 2023 is expected to come from the Southern senatorial zone of the state as the Governor is expected to come from the Central zone and Deputy Governor from the Northern zone. It’s expected that an experience member that will emerge from the southern zone will stand a better chance of becoming the Speaker of the 10th Assembly.

The battle will now be between the current majority leader of the Assembly, Nan’anlong Daniel (Mikang) of the APC who is seeking for a third time return and Joseph Bukar (Shendam) of same APC having been a member of the Assembly between 2007 to 2011 or Nanbol Listick (Langtang North-North) of Labour party, depending on the party that will form the majority in the House come 2023.

Notwithstanding, in the absent of an experienced member from the zone, any first timer from the party that forms the majority in the house in 2023 can be elected Speaker like what played out in 2019, that saw the emergence of a first timer, Abok Ayuba from the ruling party and also the current Speaker, Yakubu Sanda who is also a first timer.