July 23, 2024

Plateau Assembly Announces Reconstitution of Standing Committees

The Speaker, Plateau State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Gabriel Dewan has announced the reconstitution of Standing Committees of the Plateau State 10th Assembly.

This formed part of Thursday plenary of the Assembly at the Old Government House, Rayfield Jos, the temporary sitting place of the Assembly due to the ongoing renovation of the State Assembly Complex.

The standing committees and Chairmen of the committees as announced by the Speaker are, Funds and Management Board with the Speaker as Chairman, House Services and Welfare to be chaired by Galadima Ibrahim, Agriculture has Bala Hudu, Finance has Denty Laven.

Education, Science and Technology is to be chaired by Joseph Gokum, Commerce and Industry-Abdul Yanga, Works and Transport – Dickson Chollom, Housing and Urban Development -Abel Nansak, Judiciary – Kallamu Idris, Women Affairs – Ali Bako, Water Resources and Energy – Abdul Yanga.

Health Committee is to be chaired by Joseph Gokum, Information – Matthew Kwarpo Sylvanus, Parastatal and World Bank Projects- Joseph Bukar, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs-Bendel Nanchwat, Youth and Sports Development – Matthew Kwarpo Sylvanus, Environment and Solid Mineral Development – Ali Bako.

Others are Labour and Security to be chaired by Nanbol Listick and Land, Survey and Town Planning has Wallanko Sylvester as it Chairman.

Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Gabriel Dewan tasked Chairmen and members of the Committees to do their work and check activities of Ministries, Departments and Agencies under them for effective service delivery.

During the plenary, the majority leader of the House, Joseph Bukar moved a motion on a call on the Plateau State Government through the Jos Metropolitan Development Board, (JMDB), to ensure the sustenance of the Executive Order 003 geared towards controlling Building and Vehicular Traffic within the Greater “Jos Master Plan” and the need to protect the Taskforce enforcing the order from activities of unlawful miscreants and hoodlums.

The Assembly also sympathized with the people of Barkin Ladi Constituency over the natural disaster of windstorm that destroyed over 60 Houses, Schools and other structures as reported by the member representing Barkin Ladi, Dickson Chollom.

The 10th Assembly adopted the new Legislative Calendar for the second session of the Assembly, commencing from 20th June, 2024 to end 13th June, 2025.

About The Author